Paraphilia

(We have a Facebook page now – do come and “like” us and say hi)

I love collaborating with Quiet Riot Girl, and especially on the fabulous projects she runs at Games Perverts Play. I’ve just had the call for the third GPP anthology, whose theme is paraphilia. I first took an interest in paraphilias having read articles by Magda Ess whilst researching transgressive fiction. Magda is particularly interested in Hybristophilia, otherwise known as Bonnie and Clyde syndrome, and that formed the basis of my last GPP contribution, Photo Fit.

Anyway, all that is a propos. This morning I was looking through the facebook page for the fabulous Book Club Boutique and I saw Salena had mentioned Paraphilia Magazine. Which is something you would all love.

Here’s a bit from its manifesto:

“Enter PARAPHILIA, an unlicensed, underground enterprise that renounces established and arbitrary rules, regulations, guidelines, genres, categories, and all other manmade shackles. Paraphilia recognizes that expression is a fundamental function of the human organism, and within these walls, it will only be presented in the purest, rawest, most unfettered form.  The sole requirement for admission is an open mind, so do come in, we embrace your presence.”

Not only is there a magazine (to which you can submit), there is a selection of the most frabjous books.

There’s one – D M Mitchell’s Lovecraftian Songs of the Black Wurm Gism.

The site is just a must. An absolute must.

This entry was posted in we recommend, zines and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paraphilia

  1. I had a look and Paraphilia looks great! I will contact them more formally about our project too.

    I have put my novel Scribbling On Foucault’s Walls on smashwords for free. I found the whole ‘trying to get published’ thing so stressful and I only did it for a few days! Now I am free to get on with actually writing/curating which is much more fun.

    But if you do have any ‘marketing’ ideas let me know.

    http://quietgirlriot.wordpress.com/2011/07/09/the-uses-of-literacy/

  2. danholloway says:

    I’ll get my thinking cap on. We’ll start with a post here. I have to say I’m with you – I want to write and I want to curate.

Leave a Reply

