My Memories of a Future Life

(We have a Facebook page now – do come and “like” us and say hi)

I have a feeling she doesn’t even remember it, but I first came across Roz Morris, aka twitter’s @dirtywhitecandy, when she posted a link to one of my blog articles way over a year ago. I have a feeling it was one of the ones about self-doubt. I followed her from then on, but our paths didn’t really cross again until we both became part of the Kindle UK Authors group.

At that point, I discovered she was working on a really rather fabulous project, My Memories of a Future Life. It’s one of those books like Claire-Obscure that had me from the moment I heard the title. And she’s serialised it into four 25,000 word parts, being released over the next month, which is something else I heartily approve of. Each is just 86p – the first part available here for Kindle and Kindle app.

There’s a long blurb that I’ll paste in the end, but the opening line of it is surely worth 86p on its own:

If you were somebody’s past life…

Without coming over all Derrida, I just love the way, as the moment when the sun is perpetually overhead, the present casts its shadow as much ahead of us as behind. Too much narrative uses the present as the vanishing point of the past, which is all well and good, and even more interesting when it does a Run Lola Run and asks why the past full of so many potentials crystallises into this particular present and not one of the many others. But how much more interesting to take the present as the thing that is fluid and the future as our fixed point, and to question the shadows thrown in both directions between them, to know that there is a fixed future connected to our present but not to know how, and to see that process unravel in prose.

Here’s the rest of the blurb. Enjoy (the download is here)

If you were somebody’s past life…

What echoes would you leave in their soul?
Could they be the answers you need now?

It’s a question Carol never expected to face. She’s a gifted musician who needs nothing more than her piano and certainly doesn’t believe she’s lived before. But forced by injury to stop playing, she fears her life may be over. Enter her soulmate Andreq: healer, liar, fraud and loyal friend. Is he her future incarnation or a psychological figment? And can his story help her discover how to live now?

A novel in the vein of The Time Traveller’s Wife, Vertigo and The Gargoyle, My Memories of a Future Life is much more than a twist on the traditional reincarnation tale. It is a multi-layered story of souls on conjoined journeys – in real time and across the centuries. It’s a provocative study of the shadows we don’t know are driving our lives, from our own pasts and from the people with us right now. Like Peter Shaffer’s plays The Royal Hunt of the Sun and Equus, it asks questions about what we believe, what we create and how we scare and heal each other.

Above all, it’s the story of how one lost soul searches for where she now belongs.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Memories of a Future Life

  1. Dan, thanks so much! My Memories of a Future Life was one of those ideas that niggled to be written. Along with – who’s doing this and why? And what does it mean for her?

  2. Pingback: ‘Brimming with ideas… a wonderful literary journey’ « My Memories of a Future Life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s